The Water City

November 1, 2010

So, seeing as Halloween is over now – (easily the least “halloweenie” halloween I’ve had in years and years – a break I welcomed this year. Nevertheless, I look forward to carving my vomiting pumpkin and getting back into costume next year…) – I decided to change my “theme” on this site from something other than cartoon pumpkins.

In perusing my options once, twice – a third time… I was struck by how absolutely pathetic they are. As such, I selected the one I found most random today, this one – the Minneapolis Skyline.

Minneapolis? “WTF?” you ask (as did I).

Let me add because unless you have one of these sites, you won’t know – it’s not as if there are lot of skylines to choose from, perhaps New York, Paris, London – you know, some familiar ‘cityscapes.’ In fact, there are exactly two. Minneapolis and – perhaps you guessed it? – Rome.

Rome. I know. Right?

So, I wondered, “What in the world could be so special about Minneapolis that it gets its own Caring Bridge banner theme?” And I did what any red-blooded computer savvy gal would do and went straight to Wikipedia. (BTW – I cannot recommend you try any of these links – they just came along for the ride – like germs if you will – and I can’t make them go away.)

Minneapolis, nicknamed “City of Lakes” and the “Mill City,” is the county seat of Hennepin County, the largest city in the U.S. state of Minnesota, and the 48th largest in the United States. Its name is attributed to the city’s first schoolteacher, who combined mni, the Dakota word for water, and polis, the Greek word for city.

Minneapolis lies on both banks of the Mississippi River, just north of the river’s confluence with the Minnesota River, and adjoins Saint Paul, the state’s capital. Known as the “Twin Cities,” Minneapolis-St. Paul is the 16th-largest metropolitan area in the U.S., with 3.5 million residents. The Metropolitan Council estimated the city’s population in 2009 as 386,691.

The city is abundantly rich in water with over twenty lakes and wetlands, the Mississippi river, creeks and waterfalls, many connected by parkways in the Chain of Lakes and the Grand Rounds Scenic Byway. It was once the world’s flour milling capital and a hub for timber, and today is the primary business center between Chicago and Seattle. Named America’s most literate city, it has cultural organizations that draw creative people and audiences to the city for theater, visual art, writing, and music.

The community’s diverse population has a long tradition of charitable support through progressive public social programs, as well as private and corporate philanthropy. In fact, nearby suburb Eagan is the home of the CaringBridge.org family which explains why one of only two skyline banner themes available to the sadly-ill-enough-to-consider-a-site CaringBridge users is a lovely nighttime shot of Minneapolis. (As an aside, why the other skyline photo, and notably, not a lovely nighttime picture, is of Rome remains a mystery to Wikipediacs everywhere.)

So there you have it. Mystery solved.

For those of you that logged on to find out the latest – I’m sorry but the whole Minneapolis thing really derailed me and now I just don’t feel like blathering on about bla bla bla. Not to imply there is anything to blather on about – there isn’t. For those of you that logged on hoping for some insight into my state of mind – well, there ya go.

Either way, thanks for hanging around long enough to get to the end.

via
Leave a Reply

