So Much To Look Forward To

February 24, 2010

 

To Do:

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

9:00am
Get injected with some glow-in-the-dark stuff (that probably causes cancer)

1:00pm
Mastectomy
Sentinel Node Biopsy
Placement of “expander” (for future fake boob)

Sometime between 3:00pm and 8:00pm
Unfamiliar and somewhat nondescript yet excruciating pain that, despite a willful insistence by my brain that I should wake up and kick the ass of whoever is responsible for said pain, I somehow cannot quite put a wakeful finger on long enough to do anything about.  (Thankfully, my brain will not allow me to fully remember or recreate this experience later.)  I do somehow manage to request chocolate.

Sometime around midnight
Nurse will remind me that pressing the “more morphine” button too many times makes it not work anymore.

Sometime around 3:00am
My sister tells me to “Breathe.  Just try breathing.  Slow breaths.  Deep breaths.”  I tell her to go f*ck herself and then burst out crying.

Much Later
I wake up and ask my mother what happened.

 
 
via
Leave a Reply

